C E L E B R A T E

blog10

I know how to talk about pain and write about it. Pain has always been my medium. I’m thinking I want another medium to add to the color palette, but I legitimately laugh when I think of me talking about celebrating. To be honest, I’m pretty sure I suck at it. Not because I’m against having a good time, it’s just that being excited can be a struggle for me sometimes and if I were being honest sometimes I’m too tired to celebrate.

Some people are wired that way and I get that. I am not nor have I ever been, but I’m starting to think it looks like fun. I think I could do it, and I think I want to.

Now I’m not saying I don’t enjoy a good party every now and then. I do. I love laughing with friends and I enjoy people, but it is not everyday that I choose to celebrate nor probably every week. Although I am learning.

First of all, celebrating has nothing to do with ignoring pain. At some point I have to learn that celebrating is important because God is a giver of good gifts. Blessings are real and they cause joy.

It’s unfair to always make Pain the victim. Grief happens. Hard things happen. That’s life. We have to become okay with being sad because heart aches need to heal, but only feeling sad is unhealthy. I haven’t always understood that.

But I’ve learned a lot in my first semester of college. I’ve learned the importance and joys of celebrating. Cause life’s a big deal. And some days I don’t want to throw a pity party, I want to say HECK YES.

Life’s a big deal and learning how to live on my own and be an adult is hard and really exciting. Early on in the semester, my friends and I celebrated our first non-caf meal after being at school for nine days with cookies and ice scream. We celebrated a free Friday night with blankets and pillows, candy and a chick flick. I celebrated flying by myself for the first time with Starbucks. I rejoice all the time for God’s good gifts of great friends and a roomie that only God could have given. I celebrated my first real job- my dream summer job- with a book that I’ve been wanting. Celebrating doesn’t have to be marked or planned; it can be an ecstatic “hallelujah!” or a simple “God bless.”

Every day will not be a party. It can’t be. So when the opportunity comes, let’s celebrate until there’s no more laughter in our lungs.

 

Leave a Reply

